South Africa Jokes As It Waits For New ANC President. See List of Official Nominations for Top 6

The jokes have already started on social media as South Africa waits to hear who will be the next leader of the ANC: President Jacob Zuma’s Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa or his ex-wife Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

The 54th ANC National Elective Conference has been packed as 4,776 ANC delegates gathered to vote for the top six leadership positions.

And as the jokes go down, the Rand is rising with optimism that it will be Ramaphosa, who was in the lead after branch votes were tallied: Ramaphosa leads with 1,469 branch votes from across six provinces; and Dlamini-Zuma has 1,094.

Other official nominations are:

Deputy President:

  • David Mabuza – 1,128
  • Lindiwe Sisulu – 619
  • (Zweli Mkhize – 193 – and Naledi Pandor declined their nominations)

National Chairperson:

  • Gwede Mantashe – 1,499
  • Nathi Mthethwa – 807


  • Senzo Mchunu – 1,479
  • Ace Magashule – 930

Deputy Secretary-General:

  • Jessie Duarte – 845
  • Zingiswa Losi – 361

Treasurer General:

  • Paul Mashatile – 1,581
  • Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – 275
  • (Nomvula Mokonyane – 289 – declined the nomination.)

Results are expected Monday on who will replace Jacob Zuma.