Comrades 2018 Won by South Africans!! Congratulations Bongumusa Mthembu and Ann Ashworth

The famous Comrades Marathon has been won this year by South Africans.. which is fantastic in a year that the ultimate human race marks Nelson Mandela’s Centenary.

Comrades Marathon 2018 winner Bongumusa Mthembu. Source: Comrades Marathon

Bongumusa (Bongmusa) Mthembu (35) won the Marathon for the second time, after winning previously in 2014, becoming the second South African ever to win it twice, after ‘Comrades King’ Bruce Fordyce.

Bongumusa, who hails from Bulwer in the KwaZulu-Natal Midlands, won in a time of 5:26:35… more than five minutes in front of second-placed Joseph Mphuthi (5:35:14). His prize includes R440 000 cash.

Ann Ashworth (32) from Johannesburg was the first woman over the finishing line of this, the 93rd Comrades Marathon. She finished in 6:10:04. She dedicated the race to her father, who passed away last year.

Comrades Marathon women’s race winner Ann Ashworth. Source: Comrades Marathon

Gerda Steyn took second spot with a time of 6:15:34.

The annual race – which was a ‘down’ race this year, from Pietermaritzburg City Hall to Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium – attracts people from around the country and around the world.

A massive massive congrats to the new Comrades winners of 2018. Unbelievable strength and determination. SA for the…

Posted by Henry Summers Photography on Sunday, June 10, 2018