18 SARS branches close over strike
Photo: SA News

Eighteen tax branches of the South Africa Revenue Service (SARS) are not in operation today (Tuesday) as SARS staff embark on a wage strike.

In a statement, SARS said: “(We) apologise for any inconvenience caused but due to Industrial Action taking place across SARS, we are experiencing delays in servicing our taxpayers.”

The revenue collector urged the public to continue to make use of its digital services during this time.

SARS staff first embarked on strike in May, when labour and the employer could not settle on a wage agreement.

According to reports, unions have rejected a proposed wage increase of 1.39%.

In May, SARS said it simply did not have the resources to meet the labour demand of CPI plus 7%.

The following tax branches and customs offices are closed:


  • Edenvale
  • Benoni
  • Randfontein
  • Springs
  • Boksburg


  • Richardsbay
  • Pietermaritzburg
  • Durban

Western Cape

  • Cape Town
  • Mitchells Plain
  • Paarl
  • Beaufort West


  • Mbombela

Eastern Cape

  • Mthatha
  • Uitenhage
  • East London

Northern Cape and Free State

  • Upington
  • Qachas (Border post)

–      SAnews.gov.za