Eskom has finally published a public job advertisement for the position of CEO after Andre de Ruyter's resignation in December 2022. Photo: Canva

Eskom finally published a public job advertisement for the position of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) on Sunday, 5 February, after Andre de Ruyter announced his resignation in December 2022.

Eskom said de Ruyter’s last day in office would be 31 March 2023.

The resignation came after several calls for his head from politicians and the public at large.

The week before de Ruyter made the decision, Energy Minister Gwede Mantashe said he was “actively agitating for the overthrow of the State”, and government support for the CEO had been largely nonexistent.

READ: Andre de Ruyter quits as Eskom CEO

The incoming CEO will oversee the unbundling of Eskom – the power utility will be divided into three separate divisions that handle the transmission, generation and distribution of electricity. The job advertisement is being run through Drayton Glendower, an Executive Search Firm.

The advertisement says the incoming CEO will be responsible for “building an ethos of excellence and continuous improvement…” and “creating a high-performing organisation with a culture that maintains the highest ethical and governance standards…”

The ideal candidate holds a postgraduate degree in Engineering, Business Administration, Economics, or another suitable qualification at NQF level 8 with 480 credits. An MBA would be an advantage.

The ideal candidate should have 15 to 20 years of senior management experience, preferably in emerging markets.

They should have strong business skills and a successful track record in managing the strategic turnaround of a commercial entity operating in a complex environment. Eskom has over 20 000 employees and has an annual turnover of over R50 billion.

They should have a solid track record in mitigating systemic risks, proactively managing crises, and more.

De Ruyter assumed the position on Christmas Day in 2019. He has had the misfortune of overseeing the worst period of load shedding in the country’s history.

He is the 14th CEO since 1994 and the 11th since load shedding was first implemented in 2007.


  • Allen Morgan (1994 – 2000)
  • Thulani Gcabashe (2000 – 2007)​​
  • Jacob Maroga​​ (2007 – Nov 2009)
  • Mpho Makwana​ (Nov 2009 – Jun 2010)
  • Brian Dames​​ (Jul 2010 – Mar 2014)
  • Colin Matjila (Apr 2014 – Sep 2014)
  • Tshediso Matona​​ (Oct 2014 – Apr 2015)
  • Brian Molefe (Apr 2015 – Nov 2016)​
  • Matshela Koko​ (Dec 2016 – May 2017)
  • ​Johnny Dladla (Jun 2017 – Oct 2017)
  • Sean Maritz​ (Oct 2017 – Jan 2018)
  • Phakamani Hadebe (Jan 2018 – Jul 2019)
  • Jabu Mabuza (Aug 2019 – Jan 2020)
  • André de Ruyter (Jan 2020 – Mar 2023)