WATCH Chad le Clos’ Emotional Journey to Rio (and SA Team Announced)

As brilliant South African swimmer Chad le Clos prepares for the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil – and the moment he will go head to head with Michael Phelps again – he has revealed what his focus on the #RoadToRio is in a very moving documentary – “Unbelievable”. (See Trailer below.)

While his race against Phelps – whom he beat to gold in the 200m butterfly at the London 2012 Olympic Games – is one of the most anticipated of the Games, his journey to Rio has been plagued by family heartache.

His father, mentor and best friend Bert – who captured hearts around the world with his enthusiastic and emotional response to Chad’s stunning win in London – has been fighting prostate cancer since being diagnosed last year. And his mother Geraldine is fighting breast cancer for the second time, and underwent a double mastectomy in May this year.

In a message on Facebook, Chad said: “Thanks for all the support – it means the world. Sharing is tough but I hope our story can inspire ‪#‎UNBELIEVABLE‬.”

According to the filmmakers, “UNBELIEVABLE” is “the story of Chad and Bert’s road to Rio, a story of extraordinary emotion, incredible commitment and burning desire for Olympic gold.” The OneToWatch production has been directed by Sir Matthew Pinsent, a four time Olympic Gold medallist and BBC broadcaster.

Watch Video – UNBELIEVABLE: THE CHAD LE CLOS STORY (Official Trailer)

South African Olympic Team Named

Those 137 South Africans who will have the honour of being Olympians were named today by SASCOC (South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee). See full list below.

SASCOC said “some athletes such as Caster Semenya, Wenda Nel, Wayde van Niekerk and Stephen Mokoka have also qualified for more than one event but will only concentrate on disciplines of their specialty.”

SASCOC President Gideon Sam congratulated the members of the squad: “You have all earned the ultimate honour of representing your country. We have every faith in you excelling at your various events.

“Attending the Olympics is the pinnacle of a sportsman’s dream. Go and showcase the rainbow nation to the best of your ability.”

Tubby Reddy, SASCOC CEO and Chef de Mission congratulated the final team and said: “We’re confident that the team is the creme de la creme of sporting talent, with most of them having represented the country in international sporting events previously… Do the country proud and go well.”

Financial Incentive to Win…

An incentive programme has been designed to incentivise athletes to win medals at the Olympic and Paralympic Games, split between the athlete and coach:

  • Gold: R400,000/R100,000
  • Silver: R200,000/R50,000
  • Bronze: R 80,000/R20,000

Watch Video: Team SA Rise – the Road to Rio 2016

The full and final athletes in Team South Africa for the 2016 Olympics:


Diving: Julia Vincent
Marathon swim: Michelle Weber, Chad Ho
Men: Chad le Clos, Jarred Crous, Dylan Bosch, Calvyn Justus, Cameron van der Burgh, Sebastien Rousseau, Michael Meyer, Christopher Reid, Matthew Meyer, Myles Brown, Bradley Tandy, Douglas Erasmus


Women (marathon): Irvette Van Zyl, Christine Kalmer, Lebo Phalula
Men (marathon): Lusapho April, Sibusiso Mzima, Lungile Gongqa

Women: Carina Horn, Alyssa Conley, Tsholofelo Thipe, Justine Palframan, Caster Semenya, Wenda Nel, Dominique Scott, Lynique Prinsloo, Sunette Viljoen, Anel Oosthuizen

Men: Akani Simbine, Henricho Bruintjies, Tlotliso Leotlela, Clarence Munyai, Anaso Jobodwana, Wayde van Niekerk, Jacob Rozani, Rynhardt van Rensburg, Elroy Gelant, Stephen Mokoka, Antonio Alkana, Lindsay Hanekom, Louis van Zyl, Le Roux Hamman, Ruswahl Samaai, Luvo Manyonga, Stefan Brits, Khotso Mokoena, Rocco van Rooyen, Willem Coertzen, Lebogang Shange, Wayne Snyman, Marc Mundell


Men: Jacob Maliekal


Women: Bridgitte Hartley


Women: An-Li Kachelhoffer, Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio
Men: Daryl Impey, Louis Meintjes, Kyle Dodd, Alan Hatherly, James Reid


Women: Tanya Seymour


Women: Roxanne Barker, Amanda Dlamini, Andile Dlamini, Refiloe Jane, Bambanani Mbane, Mamello Makhabane, Stephanie Malherbe, Noko Matlou, Sanah Mollo, Robyn Moodaly, Linda Motlhalo, Octavia Nogwanya, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Lebohang Ramalepe, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Leandra Smeda, Janine Van Wyk, Nothando Vilakazi

Men: Jody February, Itumeleng Khune, Ishmael Mngonyama, Rivaldo Coetzee, Abbubaker Mobara, Mothobi Mvala, Erick Mathoho, Tebogo Moerane, Tercious Malepe, Gift Motupa, Maphosa Modiba, Deolin Mekoa, Phumlani Ntshangase, Keagan Dolly, Tyroane Sandows, Lebogang Mothiba, Menzi Masuka, Tashreeq Morris


Women: Paula Reto, Ashleigh Simon
Men: Brandon Stone, Jaco van Zyl


Men’s Artistic Gymnastics: Ryan Patterson


Men: Zack Piontek


Women: Kirsten McCann, Kate Christowitz, Ursula Grobler, Lee-Ann Persse

Men: James Thompson, John Smith, Shaun Keeling, Lawrence Brittain, Jake Green, David Hunt, Vincent Breet, Jonathan Smith


Men Dylan Sage, Philippus Snyman, Timothy Agaba, Albertus Smith, Werner Kok, Kyle Brown, Cheslin Kolbe, Rosko Specman, Justin Geduld, Cecil Afrika, Seabelo Senatla, Juan De Jongh


Men Stefano Marcia, Asenathi Jim, Roger Hudson Manager/Coach: Brevan Thompson


Women Gillian Sanders, Mari Rabie Men Richard Murray, Henri Schoeman

The Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil run from 5 to 21 August 2016.