Watch ANC Leadership Election LIVE

The 54th ANC National Elective Conference is packed as 4,776 ANC delegates gather to vote for the top six leadership positions, including new party President… which is a close race between President Jacob Zuma’s Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa and his ex-wife Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

So far Ramaphosa leads with 1,469 branch votes from across six provinces; and Dlamini-Zuma has 1,094. Both have accepted the official nominations. There are 4,776 branches and to be considered for nomination, a threshold of 25% (1,194) was required.

Other official nominations are:

Deputy President:

  • David Mabuza – 1,128
  • Lindiwe Sisulu – 619
  • (Zweli Mkhize – 193 – and Naledi Pandor declined their nominations)

National Chairperson:

  • Gwede Mantashe – 1,499
  • Nathi Mthethwa – 804


  • Senzo Mchunu – 1,479
  • Ace Magashule – 930

Deputy Secretary-General:

  • Jessie Duarte – 845
  • Zingiswa Losi – 361

Treasurer General:

  • Paul Mashatile – 1,581
  • Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – 275
  • (Nomvula Mokonyane – 289 – declined the nomination.)

Votes will now be cast by the attending delegates. Results are expected Monday morning on who will replace Jacob Zuma.

A little earlier (see live streaming at bottom):

ANC leadership nominations

[WATCH LIVE] #ANC54 ANC delegates gather to formally nominate candidates for the party's top six leadership positions.

Posted by Eyewitness News on Sunday, December 17, 2017

ANC nominations

ANC nominations

Posted by Eyewitness News on Sunday, December 17, 2017

WATCH LIVE 54TH ANC National Elective Conference, Day 2: 17 December 2017

On Twitter: