Parliament Will Elect New South African President – Cyril Ramaphosa – Today

The African National Congress (ANC) in Parliament will today, in the National Assembly, nominate ANC President and Deputy President of the Republic, Cyril Ramaphosa, to be elected as the new President of the Republic of South Africa.

This follows the resignation of President Jacob Zuma as President of the Republic, after the decision of the ANC National Executive Committee (NEC) to recall him from office as its deployee.

“Today’s sitting of the National Assembly will take place in terms of Section 86 of the Constitution, which mandates the National Assembly to elect one among its members to be the President of the Republic of South Africa,” said ANC Chief Whip, Hon. Jackson Mthembu, in a media statement.

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng will preside over the election of the President. The newly elected President will then address the sitting thereafter.

The swearing in is scheduled to happen from 14h00 (Thursday, 15 February 2018).

And if you’ve been wondering who’s in charge right now? It’s Ramaphosa.

He is currently the Acting President of the Republic. As Deputy President he has already been sworn in as Acting President, according to the Government Communication and Information System (GCIS).

“According to Section 90(4) of the Constitution, a person who as Acting President has already sworn to or affirmed to faithfulness to the Republic does not need to repeat the swearing in or affirming procedure for any subsequent term as Acting President. As such the Deputy President will not be sworn in again as Acting President,” said the GCIS in a statement on Thursday.


Cyril Ramaphosa in Cape Town earlier today:

What a healthy start to a new day and a new era! MPs are apparently singing loudly right now as they wait inside the ANC…

Posted by SA-People – for South Africans in South Africa and expats on Thursday, February 15, 2018