Updated List Countries Banned from Travel to South Africa
List of High Risk Countries Banned From Travel to South Africa. Photo: iStockPhoto

The government today revised the list of high-risk countries still forbidden from entering South Africa, and even though there are only 22 on the list they include (with the exception of business people and people travelling to South Africa for over three months) the United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany and Netherlands. UPDATE 11 November 2020: ALL countries are now allowed to visit South Africa. There is no more ‘red list’ or ‘banned list’.

People who owned properties in South Africa and spent more than three months at a time here could also enter the country, subject to the usual Covid protocols, the department of tourism said in a statement today.

The original list announced at the end of September included 60 countries. No African countries are on the list.

The other European countries still forbidden are Spain, Belgium and Italy. Other major countries included on the list are Russia, Mexico, Brazil and India.

“People from high risk countries who may visit SA fall in the following categories: business travellers, holders of critical skills visas, investors and people on international mission in sports, arts, culture and science,” the department of tourism said in a statement today.

“The review of the list of high risk countries was done in such a way that it strikes a balance between saving lives and protecting livelihoods.

“In addition, we recognise that there are a number of regular visitors from mainly European countries that have been accustomed to long periods of visitation to our country during our summer season when it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere. Most of them own properties in the country. We appreciate the significant economic contribution that they make through their activities in the country. To this end, we will also allow visitors, in whichever category, who are coming to stay for a three months period or more subject to Covid-19 protocols.”

People who need to apply must direct email requests to Covid19BusinessTravel@dha.gov.za, supported by –

  1. a copy of passport and/or temporary residence visa;
  2. proof of business activities to be undertaken in the Republic;
  3. proof of travel itinerary; and
  4. proof of address or accommodation in the Republic.”

The department said it would try its best to answer emails within 24 hours.

Updated List of Countries Banned from Travel to South Africa

  1. Argentina
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Belgium
  4. Brazil
  5. Canada
  6. Chile
  7. Colombia
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. India
  11. Indonesia
  12. Iran
  13. Iraq
  14. Italy
  15. Mexico
  16. Netherlands
  17. Peru
  18. Philippines
  19. Russia
  20. Spain
  21. United Kingdom (UK)
  22. USA (United States of America)