springboks world rugby team 201207-bryan-habana-tendai-mtawarira-bismarck-du-plessis-springboks-3
World Rugby's Team of the Decade includes 3 Springbok players. Photo: SARugby

Three Springbok Rugby World Cup winners, Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and Bryan Habana, were named in the World Rugby 15’s Team of the Decade as part of the World Rugby Awards Special Edition held on Monday evening.

There was also special recognition for Siya Kolisi and his Springbok colleagues for their fundraising efforts through the #StrongerTogether for R32-12 campaign, which raised more than R1 million for hunger alleviation during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The World Rugby Awards Special Edition celebrated members of the rugby family who have provided outstanding service during the COVID-19 pandemic as well as players and teams who have starred over the last decade in a virtual show.

Instead of the traditional awards celebrating performances on the pitch in 2020, supporters had the opportunity to vote for their six favourite Players and Tries of the Decade Awards, with the World Rugby Awards’ star-studded panel given the difficult task of selecting two Teams of the Decade.

The Men’s Team of the Decade features a strong South African front row presence in Mtawarira, who retired from Test rugby after the 2019 Rugby World Cup, and the experienced Du Plessis.

bryan habana world rugby team decade
LONDON, ENGLAND – OCTOBER 30: Bryan Habana of South Africa salutes the crowd with team mates after victory in the 2015 Rugby World Cup Bronze Final match between South Africa and Argentina at the Olympic Stadium on October 30, 2015 in London, United Kingdom. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Habana, the Springboks’ most prolific try scorer during his international career which spanned 12 years, is the third South African named in the Team of the Decade.

Du Plessis and Habana were team-mates when South Africa won the Rugby World Cup in 2007, while all three players were members of the Springboks’ 2-1 series win over the 2009 British & Irish Lions.

“On behalf of the entire South African rugby fraternity, I would like to congratulate all our Springboks who featured in the World Rugby Awards tonight,” said Mark Alexander, President of SA Rugby.

“’Beast’, Bismarck and Bryan always gave everything they had for the Springbok jersey and were great ambassadors for our wonderful country. Their inclusion in the Team of the Decade is great reward for their consistently high level of performance in the green and gold.

Thanks to Siya Kolisi and Springboks 2019 for Raising Funds

“To Siya and the Boks of 2019, well done on a great effort to help raise funds for those less fortunate who were hit very hard because of the pandemic earlier this year – we are all very proud of your efforts.

Bismarck du Plessis into World Rugby Team of the Decade
LONDON, ENGLAND – OCTOBER 17: Bismarck Du Plessis of South Africa takes on Taulupe Faletau of Wales during the 2015 Rugby World Cup Quarter Final match between South Africa and Wales at Twickenham Stadium on October 17, 2015 in London, United Kingdom. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

“Congratulations to our other nominees too, from the Blitzboks and the Springboks, for always giving their all when representing South Africa on rugby fields around the globe.”

Every World Rugby Men’s and Women’s 15s Player of the Year recipient since 2010 were shortlisted for the World Rugby Men’s and Women’s 15s Player of the Decade, from three-time recipients Dan Carter and Richie McCaw to the Boks’ Pieter-Steph du Toit, and women’s players Emily Scarratt and Jessy Trémoulière.

The same was true for the World Rugby Men’s and Women’s Sevens Player of the Decade Awards with nine men and six women shortlisted, from two-time winners Perry Baker and Michaela Blyde to 2019 winners Jerry Tuwai and Ruby Tui. Blitzboks Cecil Africa, Seabelo Senatla and Werner Kok were also on the short-list.

Past winners of the International Rugby Players (IRP) Try of the Year from 2010 onwards were shortlisted for the International Rugby Players 15s Men’s Try of the Decade, while the women’s shortlist was selected by IRP and put to the public vote.

A total of 394,795 votes were cast by the public across the six categories during the voting window in October with rugby fans eager to have their say on who should claim the prestigious accolades for last decade.

Tendai "Beast" Mtawarira World Rugby Team of the Decade
WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND – JULY 23: Tendai Mtawarira looks on during a Springboks training session at Porirua Park on July 23, 2019 in Wellington, New Zealand. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

New Zealand’s two-time Rugby World Cup-winning captain Richie McCaw was named World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Decade.

Fiji’s Jerry Tuwai was the winner of the World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of Decade Award.

The first award presented on the night was the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Decade, which was claimed by Black Ferns Sevens star Portia Woodman.

France fullback Jessy Trémoulière added another accolade to her Player of the Year award in 2018 by being voted the World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Decade.

Woodman claimed her second award of the night when her try against USA in the Rugby World Cup 2017 semi-final was named International Rugby Players Women’s 15s Try of the Decade.

Siya Kolisi and Pieter-Steph du Toit hand over the money raised during the #StrongerTogether for R32-12 campaign
CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA – JULY 08: Deidre Adams(Food Forward SA), Springbok captain, Siya Kolisi, Gift of the Givers director Badr Kazi and Springbok, Pieter-Steph du Toit during the StrongerTogether R32-12 draw cheque handover at SARU House on July 07, 2020 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

Jamie Heaslip’s try for Ireland against Italy in the 2016 Six Nations was voted International Rugby Players Men’s 15s Try of the Decade by fans.

A total of six nations are represented in the World Rugby Men’s 15s Team of the Decade in association with Mastercard, selected by the star-studded panel with seven players from New Zealand, three from South Africa, two from Ireland and one each from Australia, Italy and Wales. The Team of the Decade boast a total of 1,637 Test caps between them.

World Rugby 15’s Team of the Decade

Tendai Mtawarira (RSA)
Bismarck du Plessis (RSA)
Owen Franks (NZL)
Brodie Retallick (NZL)
Sam Whitelock (NZL)
David Pocock (AUS)
Richie McCaw (NZL)
Sergio Parisse (ITA)
Conor Murray (IRE)
Dan Carter (NZL)
Bryan Habana (RSA)
Ma’a Nonu (NZL)
Brian O’Driscoll (IRE)
George North (WAL)
Ben Smith (NZL)

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “First and foremost, I am deeply proud of how the global rugby family has reacted to what has been an exceptionally challenging year. The rugby heroes featured in the ceremony and all the others that provided outstanding service during the pandemic are an inspiration to us all. This special edition of the World Rugby Awards is certainly a tribute to their resilience and solidarity.

“I would like to congratulate all tonight’s recipients for their outstanding contribution to our game over the last decade, and for some of them, for many years to come. They are already part of rugby’s history and it is my great privilege to acknowledge their legacy with these awards.”

Source: SA Rugby here.