Caster Semeya Included on 5000m Entry List for World Championships
Caster Semenya, Gold Coast, Australia in 2018 for the Commonwealth Games. Photo: TeamSA

Caster Semenya is on the entry list to compete at next week’s World Championships in Oregon, potentially setting up a surprise return to the big stage for the two-time Olympic champion.

The South African superstar is listed on the women’s 5000m, an event she has turned to after being banned from running in her favourite 800m race by track and field’s testosterone regulations.

Semenya’s inclusion on a competitor list released by World Athletics was unexpected after she didn’t make the qualifying time for the 5000 and was not included in the South Africa team for the Worlds named this week.

NBC reported that Semenya was moved up onto the list for the Worlds after some higher-ranked runners didn’t enter the championships. South Africa’s track federation and Semenya’s representatives didn’t immediately respond to requests for clarification.

If she runs, it will be the first time Semenya has appeared at a World Championships or Olympics since 2017, when she won her third world title in the 800m. She also has two Olympic golds over two laps but has been barred from running in races from 400m to one mile since 2019 under rules that bar women who have an intersex condition.

Semenya has not announced yet whether she will or won’t compete. One of her most recent tweets is instead a lovely photo of her child, as well as a tweet saying that while others criticise and mock her, she is getting on calmly with living her life off of social media:

Team SA squad as named by Athletics SA:

Akani Simbine, Gift Leotela, Clarence Munyani, Henricho Bruintjies, Emile Erasmus, Luxolo Adams, Shaun Maswanganyi, Sinesipho Dambile, Wayde van Niekerk, Zakithi Nene, Tshepo Tshite, Ryan Mpahele, Antonio Alkana, Sokwakhana Zazini, Adriaan Wildschutt, Precious Mashele, Melikhaya Frans, Tumelo Motlagale, Wayne Snyman, Werner Visser, Victor Hogan, Johan Grobler, Ruswahl Samaai, Jovan van Vuuren, Cheswill Johnson, Lindukuhle Gora, Derrick Mokaleng, Carina Horn, Miranda Coetzee, Prudence Sekgodiso, Dominique Scott, Marione Fourie, Zenéy van der Walt, Wenda Nel,Taylon Bieldt, Ischke Senekal, Jo-Ane van Dyk, Gontse Morake, Precious Molepo, Shirley Nekhubui

Sources include TeamSA