springboks vs all blacks
Damian Willemse, Steven Kitshoff and Willie le Roux. Image: SA Rugby website

Home » Selecting an uncapped Springbok XV

Selecting an uncapped Springbok XV

As we continue our build up to the Springboks’ 2024 Test season, we pick a starting line-up picked from only uncapped players.

17-04-24 11:33
springboks vs all blacks
Damian Willemse, Steven Kitshoff and Willie le Roux. Image: SA Rugby website

Earlier this year, the Springboks held their first alignment camp of 2024, with as many as 19 players included from the 2023 Rugby World Cup-winning squad.

However, the national coaches also cast their net far and wide, picking 16 uncapped players who had impressed on the domestic scene.

In June, the Springboks will play a one-off match against Wales, and numerous newcomers will be selected considering that it falls outside of the international window – meaning most overseas-based players cannot be picked.

There will also be a one-off match against lower-ranked Portugal in July, and it’s in these two games where many players can expect to receive their first Springbok cap.

Although the coaches will undoubtedly balance youth with some experience personnel, it does make for an interesting exercise to consider what a totally uncapped Springbok team could look like.

Uncapped’ Springbok team: 15 Quan Horn, 14 Tyrone Green, 13 Henco van Wyk, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 10 Jordan Hendrikse, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Ruan Venter, 6 Mpilo Gumede, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 1 Boan Venter.



Ruan Venter22FlankLions
Jan-Hendrik Wessels22HookerBulls
Mpilo Gumede23FlankBulls
Henco van Wyk22CentreLions
Sanele Nohamba25Scrumhalf/flyhalfLions
Jordan Hendrikse22FlyhalfLions
Morne van den Berg26ScrumhalfLions
Cameron Hanekom21Loose forwardBulls
Quan Horn22FullbackLions
Johan Grobbelaar26HookerBulls
Suleiman Hartzenberg20CentreStormers
Neethling Fouche31PropStormers
Andre-Hugo Venter22HookerStormers
Marnus van der Merwe27HookerCheetahs
Ruben van Heerden26LockStormers
Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu21Flyhalf/centreStormers


Forwards: Eben Etzebeth, Neethling Fouche*, Johan Grobbelaar*, Celimpilo Gumede*, Cameron Hanekom*, Andre-Hugo Venter*, Vincent Koch, Elrigh Louw, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx, Ntuthuko Mchunu, Salmaan Moerat, Ox Nche, Ruan Nortje, Evan Roos, Kwagga Smith, Gerhard Steenekamp, Marnus van der Merwe*, Ruben van Heerden*, Marco van Staden, Ruan Venter*, Jan-Hendrik Wessels*

Backs: Lukhanyo Am, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Faf de Klerk, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu*, Suleiman Hartzenberg*, Jaden Hendrikse, Jordan Hendrikse*, Quan Horn*, Herschel Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Willie le Roux, Manie Libbok, Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie, Sanele Nohamba*, Morne van den Berg*, Henco van Wyk*, Grant Williams, Damian Willemse

* Denotes uncapped players


  • Saturday, 22 June: SA vs Wales (Twickenham, London)
  • Saturday, 6 July: SA vs Ireland (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)
  • Saturday, 13 July: SA vs Ireland (Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban)
  • Saturday, 20 July: SA vs Portugal (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein)
  • Saturday, 10 August: Australia vs SA (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)
  • Saturday, 17 August: Australia vs SA (Optus Stadium, Perth)
  • Saturday, 31 August: SA vs New Zealand (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)
  • Saturday, 7 September: SA v New Zealand (DHL Stadium, Cape Town)
  • Saturday, 21 September: Argentina v SA (venue TBC)
  • Saturday, 28 September: SA v Argentina (Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)
  • Saturday, 10 November: SA v Scotland (Murrayfield, Edinburgh)
  • 16/17 November: England v SA (Twickenham, London – date TBC)

*A report from French media outlet Midi Olympique has suggested France will face the Springboks on 2 November.

ALSO READ: Gauteng: 41 children consume rat poison they mistook for candy