Rugby World Cup 2023, Warm Up Match: Argentina v South Africa
Photo: SA Rugby website

Home » Springbok Rugby World Cup 2023 squad named

Springbok Rugby World Cup 2023 squad named

The wait is over! The 33-man Springbok squad to play at the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France has been named. Thoughts?

08-08-23 15:57
Rugby World Cup 2023, Warm Up Match: Argentina v South Africa
Photo: SA Rugby website

The wait is over! The 33-man Springboks squad to play at the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France has been named.

The Springboks have been drawn in Pool B at the tournament, alongside Ireland, Scotland, Tonga and Romania.

LIVE | Rugby World Cup 2023: Springbok squad announcement


As times SA

Sunday, 10 September – South Africa v Scotland, Stade de Marseille, Marseille – 17:45

Sunday, 17 September – South Africa v Romania, Stade de Bordeaux, Bordeaux – 15:00

Saturday, 23 September – South Africa v Ireland, Stade de France, Saint-Denis – 21:00

Sunday, 1 October – South Africa v Tonga, Stade de Marseille, Marseille – 21:00

ALSO READ | Rugby World Cup 2023: Every squad to compete in France – UPDATED

South Africa are three-time winners of the World Cup, having tasted success at home in 1995, in France in 2007 and in Japan most recently in 2019.

Siya Kolisi will once again skipper the team.

DID YOU KNOW | Who are the most capped Springboks?

Your thoughts on the Springboks’ Rugby World Cup 2023 squad?

Let us know by clicking on the comment tab below this article, or by emailing or sending a WhatsApp to 060 011 021 1

You can also follow @TheSAnews on Twitter and The South African on Facebook for the latest 2023 Rugby World Cup news.



Props: Vincent Koch (Sharks), Ox Nche (Sharks), Steven Kitshoff (Ulster/IRL), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92/FRA)

Hookers: Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears/JPN), Bongi Mbonambi (Sharks)

Locks: Jean Kleyn (Munster/IRL), RG Snyman (Munster/IRL), Eben Etzebeth (Sharks), Marvin Orie (Perpignan/FRA)

Back row: Deon Fourie (Stormers), Siya Kolisi (Racing/FRA, captain), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat/JPN), Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Jubilo/JPN), Marco van Staden (Bulls), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz/JPN), Duane Vermeulen (unattached), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers/ENG)


Scrumhalves: Jaden Hendrikse, Grant Williams (both Sharks), Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles/JPN), Cobus Reinach (Montpellier/FRA)

Flyhalves: Manie Libbok (Stormers)

Wings: Kurt-Lee Arendse, Canan Moodie (both Bulls), Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath/JPN), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks)

Centres: Damian de Allende (Saitama Wild Knights/JPN), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins/ENG), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles/JPN)

Fullback: Willie le Roux (Bulls)

Utility back: Damian Willemse (Stormers)

SCHOOLBOYS | Derby delight as Paarl Gim down spirited Paarl Boys’ High